BMW Berlin Marathon 2016: The Road to Berlin Begins!

 

scott 10k

Completing the London Vitality 10K! Pink has always made me look extremely masculine.

By Scott Mills

In 2002, Eminem released a song that echoed those famous words of ‘Guess who’s back? back again’.

Unfortunately, unlike that absolute classic from the real Slim Shady that we all blared out alongside James Blunt’s ‘Beautiful’ on our Sony Ericsson Walkmans, I have some similar news that is far less exciting.

Like Arnold Schwarzenegger in the Terminator franchise, I am back…on the running scene at least!

Before I took part in the 2016 London Marathon, I never believed that I would enjoy running  and particularly pushing myself to the limit by training everyday as much as I did.

When you put in so much hard work and dedication for months on end, to then get rewarded by what I believe to be a great time of 03:22:15 in my first ever marathon, it really does make you want to do even more.

In early March whilst I was training for London, I decided to make it one of my goals to complete all six of the Abbott World Marathon Majors (London, Berlin, New York, Chicago, Boston and Tokyo).

Having completed London and looking to participate in New York next year, I am due to take part in this years BMW Berlin Marathon on Sunday 25th September.

With a months training already behind me, in order to better the time I recorded in London, I can already tell that this marathon could be potentially even harder than avoiding a club promotor on the Magaluf strip.

Less than half a week after completing the 26.2 mile hike around the River Thames, I had to turn my attention to the 2016 London Vitality 10k which was on the 30th May before I could even think about Berlin.

Only just recovering from the stress my body was put under during the marathon, both my mileage and pace at the start of the month was probably best described as short, slow and lethargic.

For the best part of a week I was only managing about a 5 miler, the same run I used to blitz with ease when I was about 5 stone heavier with a hairstyle that matched that of Clare Balding’s at the age of 15.

However, I understood that it wouldn’t be long that my body would get back to normal and I was soon able to run 8 miles quite regular in order to prepare myself for the 10k race.

Four days before I was due to hit the streets of London again, I got hit by a stomach bug that was harder than a Lennox Lewis jab which kept me bed-bound for the weekend leading up to the race.

scott at 1k

Completing the London Vitality 10K! Pink has always made me look extremely masculine.

Although it states that if you are unwell on the day of the race, you should never run, I of course did the complete opposite.

I had been training hard for this event, so there was no way that the regular appearance of Niagra Falls on display during my trips to the toilet was going to keep me out of something I had put everything into.

The race was going to go one of two ways.

I could have my very own Paula Radcliffe moment or I ran as fast I could to get to the end to avoid any chance of that happening.

Thankfully, the latter occurred and I reached the end without any embarrassing moments along the way.

Like with my London Marathon, I look forward to documenting my training and experiences leading up to the race and the event itself and I hope you enjoy the journey as much as I know I will.

Thanks for reading and if you would like to sponsor me for the Berlin Marathon you can do so here: http://uk.virginmoneygiving.com/fundraiser-web/fundraiser/showFundraiserPage.action?userUrl=ScottMills1&pageUrl=3

 

London Marathon 2016: The 3 hours and 22 minute debut marathon

Running Reminders: What To Expect Running Your First Ever Marathon!

London Marathon 2016 Training Blog: The Final Countdown

London Marathon 2016 Training Blog: A nose that runs faster than Mo Farah

London Marathon Training Blog: 6am, 17 mile starts!

London Marathon 2016 Training Blog: Hampton Court Half-Marathon!

 

Leave a Reply

